Progress Update – Charlotte

I have been working on editing about 20 minutes of video that is a collage of footage shot of me talking about some of the contents: mundane things like mail, phone numbers written on scraps of paper and photographs. I have mixed in some recordings of Marc’s improvised music and have experimented with fast forwarding the film during these sections. I chose the fast forwarding effect to show the viewer the experience of these materials but not to have to listen and embody all of it.

Editing was a little clumsy for me, I was getting to know the software for the first time so not all the sound and image pieces fit perfectly but this also occasioned happy and random accidents in cuts, which is ultimately the spirit of improvisation. Not all of it works, but when it does its good.

I created two timed spaces in the film for viewing slides and also for a live performance of the material, as of this morning I don’t know exactly what will happen in these spaces.

I have checked on the slide projector ordered for our classroom and it is a standard round carousel type that has a remote control and can hold eighty slides.

If anyone else has slides, this is a good opportunity to view them!

Leave a comment